Please check your junk folder for registration emails ×
  • Current Donation Goals

• Raised $0.00

Question on GFB Atomic Boost Controller

LeeSTi

Hi, Im looking at installing the gfb atomic controller and have one question regarding the instructions that come with it. They say when the controller is wound completely clockwise (startng position for testing - lowest boost setting), the car should be running at lower or equal to the factory boost settings. Because im bypassing the ECU boost solenoid, would this actually mean that it would start off at the wastegates default psi which i believe is about 7-8 psi? Its just when i think of factory boost settings, i think of 18 psi which i believe is sti factory psi when running via the solenoid?

Sorry easy answer for you pros, im still learning :P

I have v7 sti. Will be installing new boost gauge at same time as controller.

hey thanks for the reply, i actually have a suspicion that my solenoid is playing up which is why im looking to bypass it as a test, dont mind spending some money to find out. Boost levels are up and down and alot of the time the car feels sluggish....

Probably doesn\'t hurt to find out why, it might be pulling boost back due to knock or a broken thingy or something foolish

Or you\'re perfectly fine and correcto and have fixed your issue wooo

Marky said:

Probably doesn\'t hurt to find out why, it might be pulling boost back due to knock or a broken thingy or something foolish

This, be careful because if the car is puling boost because of knock and you go winding the boost back up, you could cause serious issues. Better to have the car scanned and tested first just to be sure the boost solenoid is your issue.

The boost controller will fix the symptoms but might not fix the underlying problem.

Timmah']

[quote name='ADIKT said:

Have you had the ecu scanned for any logged codes? Might help to do that before dropping 450 on a boost controller which might not even fix your problem?

/quote]