Sign in to follow this  

Australian Motor Sport Hall of Fame 2017 - Inductee Peter "Possum" Bourne

Recommended Posts


how about that eh



Hall of Fame Recipients

Evan Green (2019)
Neal Bates (2017)
Colin Bond (2016)
Peter ‘Possum’ Bourne (2017)
Greg Carr (2018)
Ross Dunkerton (2016)
Frank Kilfoyle (2018)
‘Gelignite’ Jack Murray (2016)
Coral Taylor (2017)



Peter ‘Possum’ Bourne was another of those Kiwis who won over the Aussies in his adopted country, even while he towelled them on their own territory.

He was like us, with his love of life and his no nonsense enthusiasm for rallying, at which he excelled.

Loyal to Subaru in the 21 years of his career, which went right up to his death in a non-competitive drive on a public road leading to the Race to the Sky racetrack, Possum won the New Zealand rally championship, the FIA Asia Pacific championship three times and, spectacularly, the Australian Championship eight times, including seven consecutively.

It was too cruel that Possum would be involved in a fatal crash in 1993 in Rally Australia, which killed his great mate and codriver, Roger Freeth.

Freeth’s family talked Possum out of his initial decision to retire. Most of his championship successes came after this tragedy.

Ten years later, as he was resuming his international rally career in the Production car section of the world championship, whilst also competing in the Race to the Sky in New Zealand, which he’d won two years earlier, he had his fatal accident.


  • Like 1

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this