Please check your junk folder for registration emails ×
  • Current Donation Goals

• Raised $0.00

Snow and Ice driving

Well guys it is that time of the year

SOOOOOO

I thought I would tell u what works and what doesnt....

Now before I start I will explain my experiance

I am a professional driver (bus)

I have been driving on Mt Ruapehu Professionally for 20 years

I drive bascially an AWD turbo Diesel Hiace Minibus...

Ok things that Work

try and keep off boost rapid horse power changes are bad and will incite loss of traction

keep off brakes as much as possible(use gears and yes even in an auto the van i drive is an auto and i barely touch the brakes coming down)...

take things very very slowly,depress brake/throttle slowly dont stomp on it...

If u lose traction release wot ever u have depressed and try and gain traction back

KEEP SPEED DOWN the snow is not going anywhere

If u make a boo aim for the snow bank usually a wee bit safer than on coming traffic...

Things that dont work

drifting round corners,racing,passing unless u know exactly wots going on because 9 times outta 10 u are going from the traction side to the no traction side

Pissing me off(never a good thing ) :) :) :)

any tire and rim combo wide than 205 really(especailly 20's and they dont have chains to fit either) nor to lowered hard suspensions...

AND REMEMBER JUST BECAUSE EVERY ONE IS HEADING UP DOES NOT MEAN THERE IS NO ONE HEADING DOWN usually me

And if all else fails call me and I will get u up and down safely

Cheers.had fun last year around July 7 in the big snow up at Mt Ruapehu..heaps of cars crashed off carriageway as we made our way around from closed SH1 to Natioanla Park via SH 47? ..came to an intersection... the Prado just skated for 20 plus metres..sideways. managed to collect it all etc but it was a moment...

Good advice.

DRFVDR said: