Please check your junk folder for registration emails ×
  • Current Donation Goals

• Raised $0.00

oil pump for modified engine

rex-leggy

So ive been researching for a while now on here and other forums and from everything ive read there no real conclusion on whats better .

Im looking for an upgrade from the standard 10mm pump .

There's 2 options the 11mm or the 12mm

http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1411649&highlight=11mm+oil+pump.

Thats where my main info came from . From what they are saying the 12mm pump has a higher pressure (85psi) then the 11mm @ 6000rpm .

But the 11mm flows more @ 6000rpm but with a lower pressure (56.8psi)

So because i have little knowledge on this sort of thing im hoping someone can shed a little light .

At a higher rpm of say 7500 is the pressure more important then flow.

Assuming that there is adequate oil supply

Firstly, consider that most of the American sites have knowledge based on cars running AVCS.

Are you running a late model motor? Does your engine require the extra flowrate of a bigger oil pump?

If not, you could end up just heating up the oil as the pump will need to bypass any extra flow that the engine isn't requiring.

Has your engine been rebuilt with bigger clearances?

General guide is to have 10psi for every 1000rpm i.e. 85psi for 8500rpm.

You basically need enough oil pressure to maintain a film of oil on the bearings at the highest rpm that you are going to run at. Then your pump must be capable of supplying enough oil to maintain that pressure given the flowrate that your engine needs i.e. if you have loose clearances on your bearings, you'll have a higher flowrate of oil through the motor, need a bigger capacity from the pump.

In general, for a GC8 era motor, a 10mm pump can supply enough oil to maintain the oil film on an engine with ~factory clearance @ factory rpm limit (remembering that some of those motors had an 8300rpm limit or thereabouts).