Please check your junk folder for registration emails ×
  • Current Donation Goals

• Raised $0.00

STI Intercooler

zarnah

Hey guys as some of you may remember from the old site I had started a thread following the build up of my latest project, A 1989 VZ legacy that im converting to RS spec, well have done a bit on it and pick up my engine on saturday, thing is I was on trademe the other morning looking at the $1 reserve auctions at 3.30am (im a dairy farmer lol) and there was an sti intercooler and Y pipe etc ending at that time in the morning! couldnt resist and ended up getting a mint setup for $40!! my question is, without actualy having the engine in the bay yet to check, is it going to fit? its one of the silver ones with "tuned by STI" on it with the red silicon pipes. I dont mind making my own brackets etc if needed just wana know if im goin to have enough room?

Not sure if this will help, but I have one on my BD5 RS (2nd Gen Leggy, single conv) and it doesn't fit that well. Firstly its way thicker, and even with making new support brackets its really tight, mine fouls a bit on the heater pipes - so I tweaked the brackets up a bit and then it fouls on the strut tower brace! Got it sorta 'credit card' width between the two at tho moment and it seems ok, placed some strips of rubber to insulated it from the heater pipes etc, was bangin a bit when the engine flexed.

There's also two types that are silver and have the tuned by STi sticker on it. The V3/4 ones, and the V5/6 ones i think. Only difference is the BOV flange. The problem you may have is that the throttle body on the intake manifold might be a bit further back than on the V3-6 manifolds. That may make things a titer fit, but i'm unsure - it could be just fine. What intake manifold are you using? I assume you have an EJ20G one?